Retour en haut de la page
< Back to news
Vineyards history

Menetou-Salon

28 November 2021

The Menetou-Salon vineyard is located in the Cher department, between Bourges and Sancerre, in a wine-growing region where the presence of vines has been attested since Antiquity. The first historical mentions date back to the 11th century. These are acts relating to donations of vines, in particular to the Clos de Davet, made to various religious orders, including the Benedictines of Saint-Sulpice-Lès-Bourges, who were the main architects of the development of the vineyard.

The geographical area of Menetou-Salon covers 611 hectares spread over the territory of 10 communes: Menetou-Salon, Aubinges, Morogues, Parassy, Pigny, Quantilly, Saint-Céols, Soulangis, Vignoux-sous-les-Aix, Humbligny.

The Menetou-Salon AOC was initially recognised by decree on 23 January 1959. The white wines of the appellation are made from the single grape variety Sauvignon Blanc while the red and rosé wines are made from the Pinot Noir grape variety.

 

The vineyard terroir is characterised by a geological formation dating from the end of the Jurassic period: the “Saint-Doulchard marls” (Kimmeridgian, 146 to 141 million years old), often made up of an agglomeration of fossils of small oysters (exogyra virgula), along a limestone cuesta oriented west/east. The vineyards, planted in patches, closely follow the outcrop of the marl, the alteration of which has produced two types of soil: brown limestone and brown rendzine (soil rich in humus and organic matter that develops on a limestone substratum). This geological formation and the soils that have developed are characteristic of this geographical area.

The climate is an oceanic climate, with relatively abundant rainfall (between 800 mm and 850 mm per year) and cool summers. The geographical area is at risk of a significant number of days of frost, particularly in spring. Its open landscape is also exposed to the prevailing west/southwest winds.

 

87 passionate producers (2020) are currently producing subtle and complex wines. The white wines of Menetou-Salon are renowned for their notes of white flowers, citrus and spices which underline the balance of these fresh and angular wines. The red Menetou-Salon wines are supple and fragrant, with a ruby colour and aromas of ripe fruit. Finally, the rosés are fresh and delicate, with aromas of white and dried fruits.

 

To find out more about the Menetou-Salon vineyard

 

Visuals © D.R.

Monthly Archive
All tags

Retour en haut de la page
< Retour aux actualités
Histoire des vignobles

Menetou-Salon

28 novembre 2021

Le vignoble de Menetou-Salon est situé dans le département du Cher, entre Bourges et Sancerre, dans une région viticole où la présence de la vigne est attestée depuis l’Antiquité. Les premières mentions historiques remontent au 11e siècle. Il s’agit d’actes relatifs à des dons de vignes, au Clos de Davet notamment, faits à différents ordres religieux dont celui des Bénédictins de Saint-Sulpice-Lès-Bourges qui furent les principaux artisans du développement du vignoble.

 

L’aire géographique de Menetou-Salon s’étend sur 611 hectares répartis sur le territoire de 10 communes : Menetou-Salon, Aubinges, Morogues, Parassy, Pigny, Quantilly, Saint-Céols, Soulangis, Vignoux-sous-les-Aix, Humbligny.

 

L’AOC Menetou-Salon a initialement été reconnue par décret le 23 janvier 1959. Les vins blancs de l’appellation sont issus du seul cépage Sauvignon B tandis que les vins rouges et rosés sont issus du cépage Pinot N.

 

Le terroir viticole est caractérisé par une formation géologique datant de la fin du Jurassique : les « marnes de Saint-Doulchard » (Kimméridgien, 146 à 141 millions d’années), souvent constituées d’une agglomération de fossiles de petites huîtres (exogyra virgula), le long d’une cuesta calcaire orientée ouest/est. Le vignoble, implanté par îlots, suit étroitement l’affleurement des marnes dont l’altération a engendré 2 types de sols : des sols bruns calcaires et des rendzines (sol riche en humus et matière organique qui se développe sur un substrat calcaire) brunifiées. Cette formation géologique et les sols qui se sont développés sont caractéristiques de cette zone géographique.

 

Le climat est un climat océanique dégradé, avec des précipitations relativement abondantes (entre 800 millimètres et 850 millimètres par an) et des étés frais. La zone géographique est sous le risque d’un nombre de jours de gel important, notamment au printemps. Son paysage ouvert est par ailleurs exposé aux vents dominants ouest/sud-ouest.

 

87 producteurs (2020) passionnés produisent actuellement des vins subtils et complexes. Les vins blancs de Menetou-Salon sont réputés pour leurs notes de fleurs blanches, d’agrumes et d’épices qui soulignent l’équilibre de ces vins frais et anguleux. Les Menetou-Salon rouges présentent quant à eux souplesse et parfum, avec une robe rubis et des arômes de fruits mûrs. Enfin, les rosés sont frais et délicats, avec des arômes de fruits blancs et secs.

 

 

 

Pour en savoir plus sur le vignoble de Menetou-Salon

 

Visuels © D.R.

Archives mensuelles