Retour en haut de la page
< Back to news
Trees and forests in the arts

Gustave Flaubert

9 December 2021

The year 2021 marks the bicentenary of Gustave Flaubert’s birth. Hard worker, Flaubert compiled many notes to prepare the writing of his novels, with scientific rigour and in order to give the most accurate account of reality possible.

Flaubert did not deviate from his thirst for rigour in the descriptions of flora that he gave in his writings, thanks in particular to his numerous readings in the fields of natural sciences and his association with scientists such as Claude Bernard or Félix-Archimède Pouchet, founder of the Museum of Natural History in Rouen.

Nevertheless, Flaubert’s landscapes are often imbued with a deep romanticism, as in his description of the oak trees in the forest of Fontainebleau in L’Éducation sentimentale: “There were rough, enormous oaks, convulsing, stretching from the ground, embracing one another, and, firm on their trunks, like torsos, hurling at each other with their naked arms, furious threats like a group of Titans immobilised in their anger. “

Gustave Flaubert’s works include numerous and particularly well-documented references to the natural environment(s). Nature is so present in his writings that it has a direct influence on the story, as Bernard Boullard points out in his study on the Presence of French flora in Gustave Flaubert’s work: “Unquestionably, Flaubert had a strong attachment to nature and enjoyed studying it seriously. The style may have been romantic from time to time, but the substance always remained scientific. […] The particularities of the vegetal environment, at any moment of the action, provoke and explain the behaviour of the characters, if not that of the author who ‘projects’ himself into a given landscape, then leads us there, to welcome the actors he intends to make evolve there.

 

Flaubert’s correspondence is also sprinkled with allusions or figures of speech directly linked to nature, as in this letter he wrote in 1853 to his mistress, Louise Colet, in which he insists on the importance of letting nature penetrate us: “For two years I had hardly taken the air; I needed it. And then I sank back a little in the contemplation of the waves, the grass and the foliage. Writers that we are and always bent on Art, we have little more than imaginative communication with nature. Sometimes you have to look the moon or the sun in the face. The sap of the trees enters your heart through the long, stupid glances we take at them. Just as sheep that graze on thyme among the meadows have tastier flesh afterwards, so something of the flavours of nature must penetrate our mind if it has rolled well on it!

 

A beautiful way to commune with nature in order to better contemplate and protect it!

Portrait and extract from a letter from Gustave Flaubert to Louise Colet, 26 August 1853, Trouville (© Édition électronique de la correspondance de Flaubert, by Yvan Leclerc and Danielle Girard, Université de Rouen Normandie, 2017)

 

Monthly Archive
All tags

Retour en haut de la page
< Retour aux actualités
Arbres et forêts dans les arts

Gustave Flaubert

9 décembre 2021

L’année 2021 marque le bicentenaire de la naissance de Gustave Flaubert. Travailleur acharné, Flaubert compilait de très nombreuses notes préparatoires à la rédaction de ses romans dans un souci de rigueur scientifique et afin de rendre compte le plus fidèlement possible de la réalité.

 

Flaubert n’a pas dérogé à sa soif de rigueur en ce qui concerne les descriptions de la flore qu’il donne dans ses écrits grâce, notamment, à ses nombreuses lectures dans les domaines des sciences de la nature et à la fréquentation de scientifiques comme Claude Bernard ou Félix-Archimède Pouchet, fondateur du Museum d’Histoire naturelle de Rouen.

 

Les paysages de Flaubert restent néanmoins souvent empreints d’un profond romantisme à l’image de la description qu’il donne des chênes de la forêt de Fontainebleau dans L’Éducation sentimentale : « Il y avait des chênes rugueux, énormes, qui se convulsaient, s’étiraient du sol, s’étreignaient les uns les autres, et, fermes sur leurs troncs, pareils à des torses, se lançaient avec leurs bras nus des appels de désespoir, des menaces furibondes comme un groupe de Titans immobilisés dans leur colère. »

 

Les œuvres de Gustave Flaubert comprennent de nombreuses références, particulièrement bien documentées, au(x) milieu(x) naturel(s). La nature est tellement présente dans ses écrits qu’elle a une influence directe sur l’histoire comme le précise Bernard Boullard dans son étude sur la Présence de la flore française dans l’œuvre de Gustave Flaubert : « Indiscutablement, Flaubert vouait un vif attachement à la nature et se plaisait à l’étudier avec sérieux. Le style a pu, de temps en temps, se faire romantique, le fond est toujours demeuré scientifique. […] Les particularités du milieu végétal, à tout moment de l’action, provoquent et expliquent le comportement des personnages, sinon celui de l’auteur qui se « projette » dans un paysage donné, puis nous y entraîne à sa suite, pour y accueillir les acteurs qu’il entend y faire évoluer. »

 

La correspondance de Flaubert est également parsemée d’allusions ou de figures de style en lien direct avec la nature comme dans cette lettre qu’il adresse en 1853 à sa maîtresse, Louise Colet, et dans laquelle il insiste sur l’importance de laisser la nature nous pénétrer : « Depuis deux ans je n’avais guères pris l’air ; j’en avais besoin. Et puis je me suis un peu retrempé dans la contemplation des flots, de l’herbe et du feuillage. Écrivains que nous sommes et toujours courbés sur l’Art, nous n’avons guères avec la nature que des communications imaginatives. Il faut quelquefois regarder la lune ou le soleil en face. La sève des arbres vous entre au cœur par les longs regards stupides que l’on tient sur eux. Comme les moutons qui broutent du thym parmi les prés ont ensuite la chair plus savoureuse, quelque chose des saveurs de la nature doit pénétrer notre esprit s’il s’est bien roulé sur elle ! »

 

Une bien belle façon de communier avec la nature pour mieux la contempler et la protéger !

 

 

Portrait et extrait d’une lettre de Gustave Flaubert à Louise Colet, 26 août 1853, Trouville (© Édition électronique de la correspondance de Flaubert, par Yvan Leclerc et Danielle Girard, Université de Rouen Normandie, 2017)

Archives mensuelles