Retour en haut de la page
< Back to news

The Layered Acorn oak tree

23 February 2023

The Layered Acorn oak (Quercus lamellosa) is a tree in the Fagaceae family, whose natural distribution extends from India to Thailand, including Bhutan, Nepal, Burma and China (Yunnan, Guangxi and Tibet).

It owes its scientific name, lamellosa, to the shape of its cupules in finely layered concentric rings.

It was introduced to Europe by the Scottish botanist George Forrest in 1924.


Use of Layered Acorn oak

Layered Acorn oak is a heavy, resistant wood that is prized for construction and carpentry, particularly in the Darjeeling region of India.

The oak’s bark is also used in traditional pharmacopoeia as an astringent to treat diarrhoea.


Characteristics of Layered Acorn oak

The Layered Acorn oak is a tree found in humid regions, growing mainly in mixed mountain forests at altitudes of between 1,300 and 2,700 metres.

This evergreen tree can grow to over 30 metres in height. Its leaves have denticulated edges and are 15 to 35 cm long and 5 to 10 cm wide. Its flattened acorns measure 3 to 4 cm in diameter by 2 to 3 cm in length and are enclosed in large cupules with finely layered concentric rings covering between 2/3 and 4/5 of the acorn.



Read also
Monthly Archive