Retour en haut de la page
< Back to news
Vineyards history

Chablis

9 March 2021

We can attest proof of wine growing in the region of Chablis since the high Middle Ages. The Cistercians, who founded the Abbey of Pontigny in 1114 and subsequently stood up a cellar called the Petit Pontigny in Chablis, developed the vineyard and made it prosper thanks, in particular, to the relatively close Parisian market and easy access by fluvial roads through the Yonne and the Seine.

 

The 1860s Chablis vineyard described by Guyot (Étude des vignobles, 1868) is quite different from what exists today in a way that both red and white wines were produced there, while tday the AOC Chablis ( 1938) is reserved for still white wines made exclusively from the white Chardonnay grape variety. In Chablis before the phylloxera crisis, Guyot indicates that we cultivated “in red wines, Gamays in the lowlands, and Lombards, Tresseau and Caesar in the heights; but its great and real products are white wines, whose unique and traditional plant is the white morillon * ”. The author further specifies that “Chablis wines rank among the first among the white wines of France; they come to be placed very close to the wines of Meursault. Spirits, without the spirit being felt, they have body, finesse and a charming fragrance; their whiteness and clarity are remarkable. […] Despite the great reputation they have rightly and long enjoyed, their real value is, in my opinion, even higher than their fame. ”

 

The phylloxera crisis and the two world wars will have serious consequences for Chablis. In 1955, the vineyard occupied only 550 hectares, whereas it currently has 5,700 hectares of planted vines (divided into 47 Climats and 4 appellations: Petit Chablis, Chablis, Chablis Premier Cru and Chablis Grand Cru).

 

The Chablis vineyard extends at the east of Auxerre in the Yonne department, over the reliefs bordering the Serein valley, a tributary of the Yonne, in its course through the heart of the Côte des Bars. The landscape of Chablis is characterized by large, slightly concave slopes, occupied by vines and dominated by a wooded limestone cornice, closing off the perspectives, open only in the axis of the Serein valley. A multitude of small valleys, often dry, cut hillsides with various orientations. These valleys are generally steeped in and wooded on their steepest sides, leaving room for vines only on the best exposed slopes.

 

The vineyard obtained the AOC in 1938 and the production area is delimited within the territory of the municipalities of Beine, Béru, Chablis, La Chapelle-Vaupelteigne, Chemilly-sur-Serein, Chichée, Collan, Courgis, Fleys, Fontenay-près-Chablis, Lignorelles, Ligny-le-Châtel, Maligny, Poilly-sur-Serein, Préhy, Villy and Viviers.

 

The AOC specifications state that white chardonnay “reigns supreme and gives rise to a whole hierarchy of” vintages “, reflecting very varied climatic and topographical conditions. The wines from the best situations have acquired a reputation which has made them stand out under the “premier cru” label. The “climats” (a customary name, most often a locality name) classified as “premier cru” occupy the best exposed slopes and are precisely delimited. On the right bank of the Serein, are classified the historical “climates”, attested from the Middle Ages. On the left bank, more recently revealed “climates” are classified. These “climates” are 40 in number, which can be grouped under 17 names. These “climates” are located on the great “coasts” individualized by the complex relief.

 

The 379 wineries of Chablis work day after day to promote their wines from a unique subsoil, the Kimmeridgien **, and whose international reputation is indisputable since nearly two-thirds of the production is exported everywhere. in the world***.

 

* White morillon is a synonym of white chardonnay

 

** The Kimmeridgian is a geological stage of the Upper Jurassic in which we find gray marls alternating with limestone beds sometimes very rich in Exogyra virgula fossils (small comma-shaped oyster).

 

*** The key figures of the Chablis vineyard

 

Visuals: photos and map of the Chablis vineyard © D.R.

Monthly Archive
All tags

Retour en haut de la page
< Retour aux actualités
Histoire des vignobles

Chablis

11 mars 2021

La culture de la vigne est attestée dans la région de Chablis depuis le haut Moyen Âge. Les Cisterciens, qui fondent en 1114 l’Abbaye de Pontigny et installent par la suite un cellier appelé le Petit Pontigny à Chablis, vont développer le vignoble et le faire prospérer grâce, notamment, au marché parisien relativement proche et facilement accessible par voie d’eau, via l’Yonne et la Seine.

 

Le vignoble de Chablis des années 1860 décrit par Guyot (Étude des vignobles, 1868) est assez différent de celui qui existe aujourd’hui dans la mesure où on y produisait aussi bien des vins rouges que des vins blancs alors que l’AOC Chablis (1938) est réservée aux vins tranquilles blancs issus exclusivement du cépage chardonnay blanc. Dans le Chablis d’avant la crise du phylloxera, Guyot indique que l’on cultivait « en vins rouges, les gamays dans les bas, et les lombards, le tresseau et le césar sur les hauteurs ; mais ses grands et véritables produits sont les vins blancs, dont le plant unique et traditionnel est le morillon blanc* ». L’auteur précise par ailleurs que « les vins de Chablis occupent un des premiers rangs parmi les vins blancs de France ; ils viennent se placer tout près des vins de Meursault. Spiritueux, sans que l’esprit se fasse sentir, ils ont du corps, de la finesse et un parfum charmant ; leur blancheur et leur limpidité sont remarquables. […] Malgré la grande réputation dont ils jouissent à juste titre et depuis longtemps, leur valeur réelle est, selon moi, plus haute encore que leur renommée. »

 

La crise du phylloxera et les deux guerres mondiales auront de graves conséquences sur le Chablis. En 1955, le vignoble n’occupe plus que sur 550 hectares alors qu’il compte actuellement 5700 hectares de vignes plantées (divisés en 47 Climats et 4 appellations : Petit Chablis, Chablis, Chablis Premier Cru et Chablis Grand Cru).

 

Le vignoble de Chablis s’étend à l’est d’Auxerre dans le département de l’Yonne, sur les reliefs bordant la vallée du Serein, affluent de l’Yonne, dans son parcours au cœur de la Côte des Bars. Le paysage chablisien est caractérisé par de grands versants légèrement concaves, occupés par la vigne et dominés par une corniche calcaire boisée, fermant les perspectives, ouvertes seulement dans l’axe de la vallée du Serein. Une multitude de petits vallons, souvent secs, découpent des coteaux aux orientations variées. Ces vallons sont, en général, encaissés et boisés sur leurs faces les plus pentues, ne laissant place à la vigne que sur les versants les mieux exposés.

 

Le vignoble obtient l’AOC en 1938 et l’aire de production est délimitée à l’intérieur du territoire des communes de Beine, Béru, Chablis, La Chapelle-Vaupelteigne, Chemilly-sur-Serein, Chichée, Collan, Courgis, Fleys, Fontenay-près-Chablis, Lignorelles, Ligny-le-Châtel, Maligny, Poilly-sur-Serein, Préhy, Villy et Viviers.

 

Le cahier des charges de l’AOC précise que le chardonnay blanc « règne sans partage et donne naissance à toute une hiérarchie de « crus », reflets des conditions climatiques et topographiques très variées. Les vins issus des meilleures situations ont acquis une notoriété qui les a fait distinguer sous la mention « premier cru ». Les « climats » (nom d’usage, le plus souvent un nom de lieudit) classés en « premier cru » occupent les coteaux les mieux exposés et sont précisément délimités. Sur la rive droite du Serein, sont classés les « climats » historiques, attestés dès le Moyen-Âge. Sur la rive gauche, sont classés des « climats » plus récemment révélés. Ces « climats » sont au nombre de 40, qui peuvent se regrouper sous 17 noms. Ces « climats » sont situés sur les grandes « côtes » individualisées par le relief complexe. »

 

Les 379 domaines viticoles de Chablis œuvrent jour après jour au rayonnement de leurs vins vivants issus d’un sous-sol unique, le kimméridgien**, et dont la renommée internationale est incontestable puisque près des deux tiers de la production est exportée un peu partout dans le monde***.

 

 

*Le morillon blanc est un synonyme du chardonnay blanc

**Le kimméridgien est un étage géologique du Jurassique supérieur dans lequel on trouve des marnes grises alternant avec des bancs de calcaire parfois très riches en fossiles d’Exogyra virgula (petite huître en forme de virgule).

***Les chiffres clés du vignoble de Chablis

 

Visuels : photos et carte du vignoble de Chablis © D.R.

Archives mensuelles